My Goodreads reviews

Follow me on Goodreads here.

Never

Never
author: Ken Follett
name: Kim
average rating: 4.18
book published: 2021
rating: 5
read at:
date added: 2022/02/02
shelves:
review:
Never say never…

A chilling narrative set in the not too distant future of what might just be. Ken Follett at this best, sharp, well researched, clear and concise, outlining a series of event that constitutes a very plausible scenario of how the beginning of the end might look like.

Empires

Empires
author: Nick Earls
name: Kim
average rating: 3.50
book published:
rating: 1
read at: 2021/12/20
date added: 2021/12/20
shelves:
review:
I just didn’t get it

Hard to write a review without revealing the twist. All through the book I kept waiting on something to happen, for the connections between past and present to click. Never did, and the people in the story were not that interesting, with an ending never hinted at. Very disappointing.

Agent Sonya: Lover, Mother, Soldier, Spy

Agent Sonya: Lover, Mother, Soldier, Spy
author: Ben Macintyre
name: Kim
average rating: 4.43
book published: 2020
rating: 5
read at: 2021/10/16
date added: 2021/10/17
shelves:
review:
A fascinating true story of an extraordinary woman

Agent Sonya was a real spy who literary changed the course of history through dedication, bravery and a bit of luck along her most amazing life journey. From Germany to China to Switzerland to England and back again, her story makes for better reading than any spy novel ever could. Because it is all true.

Well researched and very well written, Ben Macintyre has done a remarkable job of bringing both Sonya the spy and Ursula her alter ego to life.

Small Acts of Defiance

Small Acts of Defiance
author: Michelle Wright
name: Kim
average rating: 3.75
book published:
rating: 5
read at: 2021/09/08
date added: 2021/09/08
shelves:
review:

The Last of the Apple Blossom

The Last of the Apple Blossom
author: Mary-Lou Stephens
name: Kim
average rating: 4.70
book published:
rating: 5
read at: 2021/08/07
date added: 2021/08/07
shelves:
review:
Just a wonderful read – highly recommended

Huon Valley, the apple orchards and the bushfires of 1967 is the starting point of a wonderfully told story of tragedy, love, betrayal, friendship and family. The author transports the reader to a place and a particular time in Australian history in ways you can feel, see and smell. Grapes of Wrath meets Gone with the Wind, I am richer for having read it.

Where My Heart Used to Beat

Where My Heart Used to Beat
author: Sebastian Faulks
name: Kim
average rating: 3.89
book published: 2015
rating: 3
read at: 2021/08/02
date added: 2021/08/02
shelves:
review:
Not at his best, but still a good read

It would be almost impossible to follow up ‘Birdsong’, one of the most moving, evocative and profoundly sad books I’ve ever read. In a good way. This book is also tinged with much sadness, but also humility and strength of the human spirit. Faulks writes the inner life of men living with trauma and regret better than most.

The Great Wall

The Great Wall
author: Julia Lovell
name: Kim
average rating: 4.00
book published: 1981
rating: 4
read at: 2021/07/05
date added: 2021/07/05
shelves:
review:
The Great Wall as the metaphor of history

The Chinese walls of many names, shrouded in myths and legend, the Great Wall is a fascinating read of the broad sweeps of history of China. As the western world grapples with China reclaiming its past and yet again becoming a world leader, this is an important book to help understand just how differently it sees itself and the world.

The Poisonwood Bible

The Poisonwood Bible
author: Barbara Kingsolver
name: Kim
average rating: 4.29
book published: 1998
rating: 4
read at: 2021/06/09
date added: 2021/06/09
shelves:
review:
Illuminating. Confronting. Well written.

It took me a while to get used to the constantly changing vantage points of the story, but once it got going it captivated my attention. Some of the writing is stunning, at times less so as it takes too many turns. But I learnt a lot along the way (including quite a few Wikipedia detours as well as watching the Patrice Lumunga movie, highly recommended for background). Not for the faint hearted, I had to stop and catch my breath at times. My only minor gripe was the ending dragging out when it didn’t need to; the strength of the story would have benefitted from some loose ends to keep the reader pondering…

Land: How the Hunger for Ownership Shaped the Modern World

Land: How the Hunger for Ownership Shaped the Modern World
author: Simon Winchester
name: Kim
average rating: 4.10
book published: 2021
rating: 4
read at: 2021/05/30
date added: 2021/06/01
shelves:
review:
A problem of the ages so well defined, missing solutions

Simon Winchester is a superb writer. His grasp of complex issues is surpassed by his ability to make them understandable to the reader. The research behind this book is extraordinary, and the way he binds it all together makes for a riveting read of a rather somber subject. But I was hoping for a better approach to solutions of the malaise we find ourselves in. Maybe there aren’t any…

The Binding

The Binding
author: Bridget Collins
name: Kim
average rating: 4.01
book published: 2019
rating: 4
read at: 2021/05/16
date added: 2021/05/16
shelves:
review:
A clever idea well executed

Don’t be put off by the slow, strange beginnings. Persevere, and you’ll be rewarded by a strangely wonderful story shrouded in the mysteries of awful misdeeds and witchcraft unlike anything else. Very clever, and the style of the prose fits the story perfectly.

Humankind: A Hopeful History

Humankind: A Hopeful History
author: Rutger Bregman
name: Kim
average rating: 4.47
book published: 2019
rating: 0
read at: 2020/12/02
date added: 2020/12/02
shelves:
review:

The Dictionary of Lost Words

The Dictionary of Lost Words
author: Pip Williams
name: Kim
average rating: 4.44
book published: 2020
rating: 0
read at: 2020/12/02
date added: 2020/12/02
shelves:
review:

The Burning Island

The Burning Island
author: Jock Serong
name: Kim
average rating: 4.30
book published: 2020
rating: 4
read at: 2020/11/28
date added: 2020/11/28
shelves:
review:
Jock Serong doesn’t disappoint, but…

A fascinating story well told, much of it feels authentic and is well researched. But where Preservation had a beginning a middle and an end, The Burning Island left me slightly disappointed at an ending that felt rushed and a bit incongruous. Still, it’s a good read and I learnt a lot.

A Gentleman in Moscow

A Gentleman in Moscow
author: Amor Towles
name: Kim
average rating: 4.35
book published: 2016
rating: 5
read at: 2020/10/10
date added: 2020/10/11
shelves:
review:
A brilliant book on every levels

A story that keeps surprising, told with insight, passion and humour, but above all with an eloquence and style rarely experienced. Again and again I found myself reading a passage over and over again in pure enjoyment of the craft of writing beautifully executed by an artisan of word smithing.

The Evening and the Morning

The Evening and the Morning
author: Ken Follett
name: Kim
average rating: 4.55
book published: 2020
rating: 5
read at: 2020/09/19
date added: 2020/09/19
shelves:
review:
Another thrilling read by the master of historical fiction

It is hard for any writer to measure up to previous success. Pillars of the Earth was a masterpiece of historical fiction, and the sequels were – although not quite as majestic – both most entertaining reads. With The Evening and the Morning Follett has written another story that puts the reader back in a place 1,000 years ago with imagination, insights and authenticity. I enjoyed reading about the making of Kings Bridge and its many characters, neatly integrated into the historical narrative of Kings and Clergy and the plight of the common people; devouring all 800 pages or so with unbridled delight.

Pin It on Pinterest